PDA

View Full Version : My first attempt with new lee mold

opentop
03-01-2008, 11:29 PM
This is my first attempt with a new lee mould. Up until now, all my casting experience has pretty much been round ball for front stuffers. Plus, it has been about 7 years since I last cast anything.

I bought a lee .358 125 gr. RF two hole mold from midway. Once I got it, I cleaned it with hot soapy water and smoked the cavities. I heated my alloy up and placed the mold on top of the furnace to warm it up. When I thought the time was right, I started casting. It threw good bullets pretty much from the start. But on the other hand, the front hole would release the bullet most of the time while the second hole stuck most of the time. Also the halves stopped lining up about half way through the casting session. This caused some of the bullets to have fins. Luckily I noticed this right away and threw them back in the pot when this happened. Out of this session, I ended up with 313 keepers and 14 rejects.

The next step will be to correct the alignment problem, then lap the mold with Ajax.

Now, the frustrating part was my Lee bottom dribble. That dang thing dripped and dribbled from the start. I read on this board where one fellow tapped the plunger to make it stop. This worked until the next pour. At one point in time, I tapped it so hard that I didn’t care if I broke it. I had lead splatters all over me, and the garage. I was having a fit because I couldn’t keep my precious alloy in the pot and not on the floor.[smilie=b:

Attached is a picture of my results.:-Dhttp://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee271/Chikin_03/38-125rf.jpg

03-01-2008, 11:39 PM