PDA

View Full Version : how to make an alloy to cast larger boolits? Add more antimony or more tin?

bzajdek
02-16-2015, 06:58 PM
I have a mold that casts right under stated size and is not getting hit with my sizing die, actually a few molds that are on the border. I have wheel weight ingots, close to pure soft lead ingots, some range lead, and about five pounds of tin from pewter melted down. I also have a few pounds of brinnel 18 bullets from missouri bullet that i could use in an alloy and a little lead shot if needed. Would adding more antimony bring up bullet size, maybe adding more tin, or maybe going softer to cut the wheel weights down. I am more concerned with the size of the boolits than the boolit hardness right now(please no explicit joke references sorry don't know how to re-word that one) but I am just starting to learn. Any help is appreciated right now my alloy is around 1part wheel weights to 1 part range lead with about 1.5 percent tin. I also have 1 brass mold on the way and have read to keep the tin content low to prevent the mold from tinning. I have soldered before so i kind of understand that.

jsizemore
02-16-2015, 08:10 PM
I've got a mold (my favorite) that casts on the small side. I use the same 50/50 + 2% pewter/tin. I found if you cast at a lower temp, then your boolits will shrink less. More tin will let you cast at a lower temp but too much tin will cause problems in the mold and barrel. Keep the antimony and tin balanced and the tinning problem ain't a problem. Since hardness isn't a concern, try Lyman #2 cast as a low temp as possible and see if you get some sizing.

If I cast at 650degF with my H&G 68 mold it will buy me 1/2 a thousandth with the 50/50 + 2%

runfiverun
02-17-2015, 01:48 AM
That's lower mold temp combined with lower alloy temp.
Having said that if you look at straight Lino you'll only gain about .001 over ww alloy.
Now if you lap out the mold And add some antimony to your alloy you can gain .002 pretty easily.