PDA

View Full Version : Mold for 180-200 grain .270 Boolits?

MDWS
02-06-2015, 03:44 PM
Newbie here... i have a pretty specific agenda, I will admit it. I'm looking to get 180-200 grain cast boolits made for the 6.8 and 277 Wolverine subsonic platforms. 200 grain ideally.

I have no idea where to start, other than filling out some "Contact Us" forms to various bullet manufacturers and getting charged an arm and a leg to get something produced. I'm not even sure if cast boolits are a good idea for subsonic use. My instincts tell me that they are. But, that's why I am asking the folks in the know.

If you fine folks think a cast boolit is a good idea for a subsonic rifle application, can you please let em know how to proceed or whom to contact to get a mold made?

Sorry if this is a completely simple situation to you all... again I can admit when I know nothing and I know nothing about boolit casting.

Thanks in advance for any feedback and thanks for having me.

-Mark

frnkeore
02-06-2015, 04:04 PM
The heaviest 270 bullet that know of is this NOE @ 160 gr. It also has a high BC. It is on sale right now,too.

http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/index.php?cPath=28&osCsid=8aqg4hj727eouer4lglo3cnfu2

Something that you need to consider about your project is the twist rate that it will take to stabilize a 200 gr, 270.

Twist is calulated by bullet length and not weight.

Frank

MDWS
02-06-2015, 04:05 PM
The heaviest 270 bullet that know of is this NOE @ 160 gr. It also has a high BC. It is on sale right now,too.

http://noebulletmolds.com/NV/index.php?cPath=28&osCsid=8aqg4hj727eouer4lglo3cnfu2

Something that you need to consider about your project is the twist rate that it will take to stabilize a 200 gr, 270.

Twist is calulated by bullet length and not weight.

Frank

Thanks Frank I will take a look. Our barrels have 1:7 twist rates for this purpose. Thank you!

bhn22
02-06-2015, 06:39 PM