PDA

View Full Version : gonna get it, if it takes....

tdoyka
02-04-2015, 03:39 PM
my 1898 springfield armory in 30-40 krag(made in 1903) took about 3 or 4 days to clean up the barrel. today is the last day of cleaning. i used in this order: gunslick(foaming agent), sweets, gunslick, shooters choice mc#7, and finally gunslick.(with a light coat of oil between) sweets seems to be the agent for taking copper and lead out(going to shoot cast boolits). everything, rifle grooves, seem to be almost new. it doesn't even seem to be any kind of corrosive? patching on the grooves.
did i do this cleaning right? i'm a newbie when it comes to taking an old rifle and trying to shoot cast boolits out of her.

Hickok
02-04-2015, 03:59 PM
Purdy is as purdy does!!!

If she shines like a mirror in the bore, I would say you did it right!

I really like those old Krags, kind of a 30/30 magnum!

tdoyka
02-04-2015, 05:23 PM
thanks!!!

today everything cleaned up real nice. it took about 4 hours and alot of patches!!!! now i have to get a lyman neck expander .311" and i'll be good to go. i can't wait for the 165gr ranch dogs(175gr) to go down the barrel.

Hickok
02-04-2015, 05:43 PM
Tdoyka, I would have to replace the sights on a Krag so I could see them. Like the Springfield 03-A1, they seem to me to be razor thin, my 60 year old eyes can't pick'em up anymore!:violin:.....:lol:

tdoyka
02-04-2015, 08:10 PM
i was thinking of a williams 5d receiver peep sight. the one one the front, well i don't know.

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h273/tdoyka/6d8b48fe-d705-4c43-b7d8-41b271e42d34_zps11b08984.jpg (http://s66.photobucket.com/user/tdoyka/media/6d8b48fe-d705-4c43-b7d8-41b271e42d34_zps11b08984.jpg.html)

i'm going to try orange paint on it, white doesn't work. i think its a 1903 sight. i have 20/15 left eye(cross shooter here) and if orange don't work, i'm stuck. then i'll have to ask this 41 year old stroke-abled(yep, i is) what can i do for my front sight?

elk hunter
02-05-2015, 11:14 AM