PDA

View Full Version : Winchester 32-40 My Next Problem Question?

Terryrm1-03
01-30-2015, 08:41 PM
Got my mixed brass from great guys here on this website. Got some 155 gr gas checked lead boolits .321 from another great guy here.
I put in 7.0 grs of Green dot. I luv this stuff!
Chronographed at 1230-1260 fps.

Grouped real nice at 50yds, 2-3" not benched.

But now my problem......... Primers are backing out 1/16".
I've been reloading since 1983. Never seen this before.

Any ideas?????
Thanks Terry
PS this rifle is 1895 vintage

Ragnarok
01-30-2015, 10:35 PM
Long on headspace or thin on rim

Jon K
01-30-2015, 11:37 PM
.0625" is a lot.
Have you measured it?
Around .025" is more typical for some of the old guns.
There are some work arounds for this, if it is not excessive.

Jon

Terryrm1-03
01-31-2015, 12:49 AM
.0625" is a lot.
Have you measured it?
Around .025" is more typical for some of the old guns.
There are some work arounds for this, if it is not excessive.

JonWOW, I was just guessing. I measured my last 10 rounds shot. .021-.022!
This is typical? Glad to hear that! Sure had me scared I was overcharging my cases.
But when I chrono'd and was getting 1200 fps I knew I was in good shape.
Thanks for the info.
TR

Ballistics in Scotland
01-31-2015, 01:43 AM
Well that is a lot better. A sixteenth of an inch would be really alarming, and could probably result from some dangerous condition, besides being dangerous in its own right. .021in. of protrusion is pretty safe with low pressures, but I wouldn't feel happy when the rifle (as the Browning Winchesters can be) is loaded to considerably higher pressures.