PDA

View Full Version : 300 BLK Subsonic Load

Poppa-64
01-30-2015, 06:21 PM
First post but wanted to share what I have learned from trying to feed my Honeybadger 300 BLK 8.5" 1/8 twist barrel with a Thunder Beast 30PS suppressor.

I have been loading for almost 30 years mostly handgun and mostly store bought cast bullets or plated. I have only recently gotten into casting and only to feed the Badger 230 grain pills. I am cheap though my weapons are rather expensive. I load everything on a Dillon 550B or an RCBS Turret press.

I Chrony all my workup loads on a Beta Master at 700ft. altitude.

Lee Double Cavity TL 309-230-5R mould. Weight is listed as 238 pure lead, 95/5 230, Lino 220g respectively. My weight is avg 228g.
Lead is wheel weights with 95/5 solder added at 3% TW.
Lee 308 sizer die.
Case: LC-07
Powder: Lil Gun 8g.
Primer: CCI Small Rifle Magnum Primer
Lube: Powder Coat (tumbled in Chinese soup takeout and baked in walmart toaster oven) one coat with good PC paint.

AVG velocity is 982 fps with 492 ft/lbs energy.

I have not purposefully checked for accuracy but was surprised to find that I was consistently hitting 8in gong at 50 yard line with sight that was set for supersonic 150 FMJ. Rds are real pleasant to shoot and though not movie set quiet are not upsetting to unprotected ears. Wife calls them my holiday bullets.

I make no claims that this load will be safe for you to fire in your own weapon. Load at own risk.

xacex
01-30-2015, 11:04 PM
Welcome to the family! It looks like you did your homework, nice job. I have found lil gun, and H110/W296 to be a little loud subsonic. If you can find Accurate 1680 grab it. That powder is about half as loud. For Hollywood quiet try red dot, but I have to warn you it won't cycle the action. I am seriously considering putting a bolt carrier, and upper receiver on the mill, and making my own side charger upper so I can use the blackout as a straight pull bolt action.

Poppa-64
01-31-2015, 12:14 AM