PDA

View Full Version : How much will lube effect accuracy?

mto7464
02-26-2008, 06:08 PM
How much effect will different lubes have on accuracy given that you are not getting any leading with choice of lube.

Lloyd Smale
02-26-2008, 06:55 PM
in handguns not that much. Im no rifle expert and will bow to the more knowlegable guys on that one.

45 2.1
02-26-2008, 06:55 PM
Quite a bit actually. One lube lube will shoot great on one boolit design and shoot poorly on another in the same weight, load and caliber.

John Boy
02-26-2008, 07:04 PM
Accuracy shooting BPCR's is really effected by good v poor lubes and the capability of the bullet to carry the lube from the breech to the muzzle.

... If you have a 'lube star' on the crown of your muzzle - no lube starvation
... If the foul in your bore is soft - you have a good lube recipe

I am a fan of soywax in the recipe and I shoot alot at 200 - 1000yds

bobthenailer
02-26-2008, 08:01 PM
i orgionaly had a load worked up in my pistol with red rooster zambene hard lube, when i switched to lbt commerical also a hard lube the accuracy was the same 2 1/4 inches at 100 yards for a 25 shot group but i had 67 fps lower velocity average with the lbt lube because it created less friction/ pressure therefore less velocity with the same powder charge just like molly coated jacketed bullets. i

Bullshop
02-26-2008, 08:57 PM
Here is one example. I recently picked up a 1917 S&W 45 acp. It seemed to wamt to shoot a bit left of where I am seeing the sights. After trying a few differant boolit weights and powders I found that with bullseye and the Lyman 460 it shot plum center for me. I had a lube press with nasa lube set up when I had started.