PDA

View Full Version : Generic milspec ar15 accuracy?

dualsport
01-26-2015, 01:02 PM
I don't play with my ar's much but am thinking of a coyote safari in Nevada using j words. My two are; a basic A2 type, DSC 9" twist barrel and a M4 clone type, same barrel but shorter. The carbine is a flat top, the A2 is attached carry handle. What's about average for accuracy assuming good ammo? Where can I make best improvement for least money? Maybe I should just ask what kind of accuracy do you get with a plain jane ar? EDIT: I asked before I searched! This is a popular topic. I'm seeing reports of around 1.5MOA for average plain janes.

Hickok
01-26-2015, 01:31 PM
Yes 1.5 moa is not hard to do with a good AR with a quality made scope and good mounting system.

I have a Bushmaster with a heavy 20" varmiter barrel, free floating forearm, and a Leupold AR mildot scope that will shoot .5"-.75" groups with good reloads. The Sierra and Nosler bullets are a toss up as to which group the best in my rifle.

I think a good drop in trigger/new springs is the best quick and easy to improvement with an AR system.

Love Life
01-26-2015, 01:46 PM
What accuracy do your rifles currently get? Which part of Nevada do you plan on hunting in?

Motor
01-26-2015, 02:31 PM
1.5 MOA Is very possible. Our "parts gun" has a 20" PSA flat top upper with standard hand gaurd. It's a 1.5 MOA with hand loads. It's 1in7 twist with a chrome lined barrel too.

dualsport, Why would you want a carbine length? Personally I'd go with a 20" barrel for the little extra velocity. If you intend to use a scope as your primary sighting system you do not want a A2 with perminate carry handle. Yes the carry handle mounted scope can be accurate but getting a decent cheek weld with the scope that high is difficult.

Also, if your primary sighting will be with the scope. Try to get a flat top that does NOT have a standard front sight. The sight ends up in the middle of the scope.