PDA

View Full Version : how often

tdoyka
01-23-2015, 04:09 PM
how often do you clean your gun with cast boolits?

i'm a newbie. i just got done cleaning my 45-70 handi rifle(brand new) and i'm going to shoot my first ever cast boolits out of it. a 405gr fn (moyers cast bullets) with a charge of 13.0gr of trail boss. i shot 20 remmy ammo, cleaned the barrel till it shined, (used gunslick spray foam and shooters choice),until the patches came out clean, and now i wait until monday till i get out and shoot it.

assuming it doesn't lead the barrel, how long do you clean it?

waksupi
01-23-2015, 04:30 PM
I seem to remember cleaning the barrel of my main big game rifle maybe 3-4 years ago. That discounts running patches through and some oil during hunting season for moisture. Aside from that, if the accuracy is holding up, the less cleaning, the better.

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
01-23-2015, 05:41 PM
Tdoyka,

I'm with Waksupi, and my answer is seldom.

Now, I live in an area with much lower humidity then some, so that is a factor, but can't remember the last time I cleaned a stainless handgun barrel, and for my 45/70, maybe ?? once a year or so providing I don't get soaked during hunting. Then I would clean and shoot a shot or so to re-season the barrel before again taping and hunting.

During hunting season, I tape up the muzzle of my rifle so seldom does it get water etc. down the bore.

Now, if I were to switch back and forth between jacketed bullets and cast, the cleaning would likely be MUCH more frequent due to the copper fouling.

BUT ------------- and this is important, good results and limited fouling from cast bullets depends of barrel condition and quality AND the very important proper bullet to bore fit as well as alloy and lube used.

Get a proper bullet to bore fit and a good lube and you should have no issues.