PDA

View Full Version : Noob needing help identifying lead

Bodean98
01-20-2015, 10:15 PM
I aquired these from a co-worker for FREE! They are reported to have been used in the oilfield wireline business. They have a ring to them when dropped on a concrete floor and they seem fairly hard for lead. Does anyone have any experience with these and have an idea of their alloy? I am fairly new at this and do not yet posses the tools to check hardness and I don't have access to one of the analizer guns mentioned. Any info or other ideas how to identify this alloy would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any answers.

Dusty Bannister
01-20-2015, 11:40 PM
Look here.

http://fellingfamily.net/isolead/

RogerDat
01-21-2015, 08:51 AM
See sticky on Pencil Testing hardness. http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?75455-Testing-hardness-with-pencils

Set of art pencils is cheap, art pencils have specific hardness ranging from very soft to very hard. The hardness for a given named pencil (H,HB etc.) conforms to a hardness standard for art pencils. Allows you to determine hardness by which pencil is hard enough to gouge the material. Sticky lists which pencil is what lead hardness and testing process.

Also might want some drain cleaner to test for zinc. The chemical fizzes in reaction to zinc. I forget what brand but hopefully someone will post what that is. There is a sticky on ways to remove zinc if you find you have a little. But if it pencil tests really hard and has zinc it may be more hassle than you want to deal with depending on how much weight you will get out of it.

One on the left really does look like an iso container.

30Carbine
01-21-2015, 09:36 AM
Muriatic acid will react to zinc. you can get it any where that has a paint section I got a gallon from walmart for 6 bucks then use an eye dropper and see if they react. always have a bottle handy. and liquid plumber has muriatic acid in also.

Dusty Bannister
01-21-2015, 09:46 AM