PDA

View Full Version : What is the best way to store swaging dies & punches?

pertnear
01-19-2015, 11:33 AM
I'm new to swaging & I just received my RCE Sea Girt press/punch holder & RF jacket maker & .224 die/punch set. So far I've been very impressed with all the equipment. The only thing I'm slightly disappointed in is how the smaller stuff was packaged (just rolled in newspaper for shipping). I would gladly have paid a few more bucks & had nice storage boxes for these expensive dies.

What do the experienced swagers use & how do you treat your stuff? Should I just buy some RCBS die boxes from Midway & call it a day? Keep a oily rag in a jar & wipe stuff down when I put it away? Sorry if this is a real newbie question but this is EXPENSIVE stuff, at least to me.

TIA

IllinoisCoyoteHunter
01-19-2015, 11:38 AM
I just keep mine is the standard die boxes that came with them. Yes, RCBS die boxes will work great. I like to keep my dies and punches clean and lightly oiled. Before use, I wipe them down and out with a soft cotton cloth. After use, a light cleaning (to get any excess swage lube or crud buildup) and light coat of oil until next use. If you do this your dies will be protected indefinitely and last a LONG time. Basically, treat them like a gun.

xman777
01-19-2015, 01:38 PM
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001Q8IL42/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_10?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A30DGGRQPDAP9Y

I use these. I also clean and oil then after each use.

midnight
01-19-2015, 01:48 PM
Midway sells empty red Hornady die boxes. I label them and store all my swage die sets in them. They are much larger than the usual die box and will hold four dies and all their punches. You can even fit a couple of "H" dies in one of them. Here is a link: http://media.midwayusa.com/productimages/880x660/Primary/154/154430.jpg

Bob

wonderwolf
01-19-2015, 04:23 PM