PDA

View Full Version : Is this Lee loader 44 mag or 44 Special?

Alexn20
01-14-2015, 10:24 AM
Could it do both? Does anyone know or have one they can compare it to? Please excuse my ignorance. I have never used one before there is no ID anywhere I can find.

Any Help would be appreciated!
Thanks,
-Alex

Wayne Smith
01-14-2015, 10:36 AM
If it is a 44 it should fit both. Try a Mag case and see if it sizes adequately. There might be a problem crimping, though. I've never used one of those in a pistol caliber.

Alexn20
01-14-2015, 10:42 AM
Its definitely 44 caliber. I dont have any 44 brass to check the fit. I know someone on here will be able to tell me though. :)

Larry Gibson
01-14-2015, 11:38 AM
Used an identical Lee Loader to load many thousands of 44 Magnum and 44 SPL rounds. The die only sizes the case and mine always sized 44 SPL cases well enough. The case mouth expander and crimping operations with the Lee Loader are independent of case length.

Larry Gibson

LUBEDUDE
01-14-2015, 11:57 AM
I learned how to load metallic cartridges with that same kit when I was 18 about 40 yrs ago.

I had no problem doing all processes with both 44 spl and Mag.

Have fun! :)

Wayne Smith
01-14-2015, 12:17 PM
The case mouth expander and crimping operations with the Lee Loader are independent of case length.

Larry Gibson
Learn something new every day. I did not know that. Thanks, Larry.

Alexn20
01-14-2015, 12:22 PM
Thanks Guys! You guys always help me out! I appreciate it a ton.

I acquired this in a purchase that came with a box full of reloading stuff. I took the things I was interested in and the rest has been going up for sale. I just want to make sure I understand what I am posting for sale.

This is going up on swapping and selling today if you are interested.

mdi
01-14-2015, 12:39 PM