PDA

View Full Version : Marlin Texas (336)

Char-Gar
01-11-2015, 05:30 PM
In 2005, I paid $140.00 for this 1960 Marlin 336 in a Corpus Christi, TX pawn shop. I added the sight and refinished the wood. "Those were the days" when good Marlins were plentiful and cheap. Of course it is a "thutty-thutty". I use 170 grain FNGC bullets over 17/4759 and it shoots very, very well. It is just a good all around rifle. I could run those bullets faster, but have no need and see no reason to do so.

pull the trigger
01-11-2015, 05:48 PM
Are you just trying to get your money back? I can help you with that.;) A Texan from Texas, seams fitting.

Char-Gar
01-11-2015, 06:12 PM
No, it will stay with me for a while. These type marlins with the straight grip and slender forend are the nicest handling Marlins ever, at least in my opinion. They feel and handle like a levergun should. This one is a big of an odd ball, but I am not a Marlin expert. The Texan had the barrel marked "Texas" and the lever had a square back. This rifle has normal barrel markings and a regular lever.

koger
01-11-2015, 06:23 PM
Most of the later Texans, had a half magazine, cheaper dovetail sights, and birch wood, especially those sold in the mart stores. Yours is a nice one, a keeper if there ever was one!

izzyjoe
01-11-2015, 06:57 PM
That's a nice older Texan, they are getting hard to come by. I have one, and I prefer the pistol grip, but that's me. Those are good shooters, especially with you're combo!

pietro
01-11-2015, 07:19 PM
No, it will stay with me for a while. These type marlins with the straight grip and slender forend are the nicest handling Marlins ever, at least in my opinion. They feel and handle like a levergun should. This one is a big of an odd ball, but I am not a Marlin expert. The Texan had the barrel marked "Texas" and the lever had a square back. This rifle has normal barrel markings and a regular lever.