PDA

View Full Version : rcbs OR nei 45 hollow base mold

coalgeo
01-11-2015, 03:46 PM
I am thinking about tinkering around with a 45 caliber hollow base bullet for my Rugers in 45 Colt. Just wondering what folks experiences have been with either the NEI 323A or the RCBS 57919? Especially, of course, with recently purchased new products from these folks. While I have no experience with NEI, my experience with customer service at RCBS has always been first rate.
Greg

Blammer
01-11-2015, 05:18 PM
Stay with RCBS or go to NOE.

I'd shy away from NEI.

Ben
01-11-2015, 05:55 PM
No much good being said about NEI, of late.

Ben

fatnhappy
01-11-2015, 10:34 PM
Stay with RCBS or go to NOE.

I'd shy away from NEI.

Blammer is being polite.

NEI is sorely in need of a skilled machinist.

happy7
01-12-2015, 10:46 AM
As said, NEI is not a good option. RCBS makes fantastic molds, with the exception that they tend to run on the small side. Sometimes they are ok, sometimes they are a 1000th or two smaller than I would like. But I would definitely go with the RCBS over NEI.

Forrest r
01-12-2015, 05:31 PM
None of these are rcbs or NIE but they are the 4 hb bullets I use in the 45cal's.

http://i162.photobucket.com/albums/t242/forrestr-photo/45hbs_zps12343963.jpg (http://s162.photobucket.com/user/forrestr-photo/media/45hbs_zps12343963.jpg.html)

Top left: Lyman 45468 185g hbfn (casts .454 with range scrap)
Top right: Mihec 45cal 235g hbwc (casts .454 with range scrap)
Bottom left: Cramer 5f 175g hbswc (casts .454 with range scrap) Extremely rare mold
Bottom right: Lyman 450229 180g hbfn (casts .454 with range scrap)

The lyman molds are easy to come by. The 450229 is actually designed for the lyman 45cal bp rifles so most people don't want them. I paid $25 for mine & it does extremely well in the contender & 45acp.

coalgeo
01-12-2015, 07:00 PM