PDA

View Full Version : looking for a new Luber/sizer

Catch
02-21-2008, 11:19 PM
Have been using two sizers for years. My newer one, an RCBS still works well, but the old Lyman (35 years old) has finally given out. If I get one new one that will use the same dies as the RCBS (and Lyman) which one do you members recommend? I do not do that many at one time, but I do cast alot of different sizes, using approximately 40 different molds. Thanks for your ideas. I've been doing this for almost 50 years and I'm not up on the new products all that well. At my age I'm kind of low and slow and having a good time. Catch:coffee:

454PB
02-22-2008, 01:32 AM
Hi Catch, welcome to the forum!

What happened to the Lyman? I've had some breaks and failures, and was always able to get it going again.

I've never used the RCBS sizer, I have two Lyman 450's that are both old and well used (and repaired), and a Star sizer. From what I've read and heard, the RCBS is a fine machine. I guess if I were in your position, I'd probably buy another RCBS, only because of their excellent repair and warranty reputation.

Catch
02-22-2008, 02:01 PM
The toggles on the lyman are rather worn, but the worst part is that no matter what die you use, when you get it warm enough to work well, the bullet lube squirts out between the die and the hole that it fits into. The old Lyman tools held the die in by a set screw and when worn they tend to hold the die back against the worn side of the hole letting the lube out that way before it fills the bullet correctly. Without making an insert or bushing of some type I don't see how I can fix it. The tool also doesn' have the leverage required for old hands and wrists to use. Thanks for your reply..Catch

454PB
02-22-2008, 02:16 PM