PDA

View Full Version : Homemade shot maker - fail need some suggestions

Gunslingerdoc
01-04-2015, 07:55 PM
I bought a homemade pan and some nozzles of the bay and rigged up a stand using an old grill burner I've been lugging around.

I'm using:

a mix of metal...some scraps from casting hollow points about 3-4% tin with some COWW and some bullets my dad cast that shoot poorly...I'm guessing they're somewhere between #2 and Lino as he likes 'hard' boolits.

water with dish soap 1/4 to 1/8 drop into a 5 gallon bucket.

Lead temp is anywhere from 600-700 degrees depending on the wind

base of my melting pan is 30 degrees above horizontal...seems to work better at 20 degrees so I may need to 'modify' that.

Result:

I started off getting popcorn - fixed it by moving water closer to drop edge. Then all I could get was flat round to oval shot....not a spherical shot in the bucket.

Is it my coolant or my lead? Or something else?

RED333
01-04-2015, 08:32 PM
I have no experience doing this, but from what I have read non toxic antifreeze is best, and it needs to be some what warm.
I have no idea about the angle you are using.
All that said, I will be trying some of this soon.

Gunslingerdoc
01-04-2015, 08:58 PM
I was going to go with antifreeze but couldn't get a lid with my bucket ...Wally world was out of lids.... And I have a 4 mo old puppy that I was afraid would get into it when I wasn't looking. Can't kill the new puppy!

bdicki
01-04-2015, 09:08 PM
Some reading.
http://www.shotgunworld.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=15776

MT Chambers
01-04-2015, 09:18 PM
I use a commercial shotmaker and use only WW lead as recommended by the makers of the machine, according to them if the shot has a dimple your coolant is too thick, if the pellet has a tail your coolant is too thin. Yours is neither so I believe you should try again using strictly WW metal and report back.

Gunslingerdoc
01-04-2015, 09:57 PM