PDA

View Full Version : 500 Smith and optics

Crawdaddy
12-29-2014, 04:41 PM
In a previous thread I mentioned I had bought an X Frame 500 magnum. The topic mostly ended up being around the muzzle brake and cast boolits. I am happy to report it shoots a 440 grain projectile using 34 grains of 4227 very well. No leading anywhere.

My next question is what are you guys using for optics on yours? Will a Burris Fastfire II hold up to the recoil? My aging eyes just don't like open sights. I do ok out to about fifty yards but after that I cannot focus on the sights and a target.

Last question, anyone have experience with Mountain Molds? Thinking about getting a 600 grain mold. Are they any good?

warboar_21
12-29-2014, 06:47 PM
I had a Burris fastfire II mounted on my 10mm 1911 and it held up fine to the recoil and slide going back into battery. I would think it would work fine with the 500.
I have no experience with mountain molds so I'll leave that to someone else.

Tatume
12-29-2014, 07:47 PM
I have several Burris scopes and red dot optics. Not one of them held up well. Thank goodness for flat rate shipping!

Andrew Mason
12-30-2014, 02:01 AM
what mold were you using? and what lube?

any idea on your velocity??

calshipbuilder
12-30-2014, 01:53 PM
I know a Bushnell TRS 25 holds up well on a 460 S&W

DR Owl Creek
12-30-2014, 02:09 PM
I had a Leupold 2x on mine. Never had a problem with it.

Dave

44man
12-30-2014, 02:50 PM
I have an OLD, OLD Loopy 4X that will take any revolver made. But I called about a Bushnell heads up and Burris and was told NO for heavy recoil.
What you run into is mount systems, one or two little screws that break.
I have broken so much stuff on a .44 Ruger with a 10-1/2" barrel I can't count. Ruined Burris scope tubes of dead soft aluminum, Tasco, Bushnell, Millet red dots. Swift scopes.