PDA

View Full Version : Wrinkled cases

Eliduc
12-27-2014, 11:35 PM
I am fairly new to reloading. I started on my son's Dillon 550. When He took it home I bought a Lee classic turret. I shoot a Colt Army Special 38 and a Taurus Ultralite 38. I am casting with a Lee frn 158g mold.
I have been having a problem with the cartridges not cambering in the cylinder. Some stop in the chamber right behind the bullet. Others half way down the cartridge and still others a quarter inch from the base. out of about 100 reloads I get 8 to 10 of these. I'm using mostly range brass but I also had the problem with new Starline brass only maybe not as bad. My son gave me 100 new Eagle 38's (2 boxes) and 8 or ten of those would not chamber while others drop right in. Where there is a visible wrinkle or ridge right below the base of the seated bullet I figure it's because the bullet is not straight in the case before seating. I notice some seat easier than others. Could the ones that use more pressure on the ram be bulging the case slightly further down? Would it help to size the bullets to 358 or 357 to make them uniform? I haven't slugged the barrel yet. I have mostly shot the Colt. The Taurus was a gift to my wife from her son and I hate guns with pink grips.

petroid
12-27-2014, 11:46 PM
How does factory ammo fit? If its fine then you probably just have tight throats in your cylinders. If you have trouble pushing a 357 bullet through the cylinder it should be reamed to at least 358.

Bullwolf
12-28-2014, 12:29 AM
If you are not sizing the boolits you cast from the Lee frn 158g mold sometimes you can cast a few boolits that are oversized, and they cause problems like this.

For example my Lee 358-158-RF , and even some of my wad cutter moulds generally cast a boolit around .360, and sometimes larger.