PDA

View Full Version : Question about truck ww and batery terminals xrf analysis?

Scooby
12-23-2014, 06:47 PM
I have been making shot for about 5 or 6 years now on a Jim Stewart machine. When I got the machine he said not to use truck wheel weights because they contained Babbitt, so I have kept them separate all this time and now I have a half of five gallon bucket of them. My question is has anyone done any xrf analysis on just a batch of truck ww alloy? I also have a bucket of battery terminals the part that is attached to the vehicle with the copper wire not the post from the battery. I was wondering if anyone has ever melted them down and would know the composition of them. Thanks in advance this site is so useful I love all the great info.

dragon813gt
12-23-2014, 07:24 PM
Terminals can usually be treated as pure lead. Truck wheel weights are the same as automobile wheel weights. The compositions are all over the place so you would have to analyze yours to truly know what it is.

bangerjim
12-23-2014, 08:17 PM
Agree. Terminals = pure.

WW's are pretty much all the same allow of Pb/Sb/Sn. Not babbit. There are over 50 different alloys called "Babbitt". Do a web search for it and see. WW's are hard due the small % of Sb and usually there is 0.5% Sn in there for mold fill.

There was a thread on here several months ago where a member did analysis of every kind of Pb WW he could find and the were all pretty close the standard. Again search for it on here.

banger

JonB_in_Glencoe
12-23-2014, 08:24 PM
a couple years ago, I smelted 300+ lbs of Automotive battery cable ends.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?144453-Battery-cable-ends&highlight=
They were not soft. I've found them to be about 1 BHn point higher than the COWW I've smelted (measured with a Lee tester).

bangerjim
12-23-2014, 08:40 PM
Glad your terminals were of harder lead. The ones I have done ended up being in the 5-7 range....soft pure lead in my book.