PDA

View Full Version : Leading at the forcing cone

tomme boy
12-17-2014, 09:59 PM
I got a new GP100 in 357 mag. It is shooting well. But I am getting a little lead in the forcing cone and about 1/8" into the rifling. The rest of the barrel is spotless. The forcing cone is really rough and there is a distinct ridge all the way around the cone right before the rifling. I am pretty sure this is were the leading is coming from.

What would be the easiest and cheapest way to correct this? This is my first time reloading for a revolver also.

cbrick
12-17-2014, 10:19 PM
A picture would help. If I'm visualizing what your saying correctly I would call Ruger and probably be sending it back to them to either re-cut the forcing cone or replace the barrel.

Rick

tomme boy
12-17-2014, 10:41 PM
Not mine but it looks about the same.

http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a74/odessastraight/_DEF3794_zps098a3622.jpg

cbrick
12-17-2014, 10:53 PM
Were it mine it would go back. Notice the leade in to the rifling? Me either, there isn't any. Just a sharp edge to start the rifling which of course will cut bullet material. If you had gotten it used I'd say re-cut it yourself or have a smith do it but you said "new" so.

Rick

12-17-2014, 10:59 PM
Recut the cone yourself. Tool isn't too expensive from Brownell's. It's easy. Two different cutters available (you only need one). then you will have the tool to dress up your other guns. I had a .22 that spit lead. Now it behaves.

dubber123
12-17-2014, 11:09 PM
If I'm seeing correctly, I think firelapping would cure your problem. Sorry you have to fiddle with your new purchase.

cbrick
12-17-2014, 11:15 PM
A brand new revolver cut that poorly is not a candidate for fire lapping. It needs to be checked to see IF it can be recut correctly, if not it needs a new barrel.

Rick

DougGuy
12-17-2014, 11:17 PM