PDA

View Full Version : Hornady Ammo Plant

reddoggm
12-15-2014, 09:44 PM
Does anyone here own a Hornady Ammo Plant got a friend who just bought 2 of them for $599.99 apiece on sale some where and wants to sell one for $700.00 which looks like a heck of a deal from what I was seeing these go for I was interested in getting one for my Father Whos hands don,t work as good with the Bullet and case feeding on his Pro 2000 anymore so I was gonna possibly P/U the Hornady for him for XMas but was wondering if anyone has any experience with one of these before I possibly P/U something that will give him more grief than Bullets
Thanks in advance
DOGG!!!

triggerhappy243
12-15-2014, 10:20 PM
for a moment there, I thought this thread was going to say the hornady ammo plant blew up. LOL

JimmyTheDentist
12-15-2014, 10:34 PM
I’m relatively new to reloading and started with the Hornady progressive press. It’s all I’ve ever known.

So please take this advice understanding that I’ve got limited exposure to all the other excellent tools available these days . . . including the Pro 2000. And I don’t use the Hornady to load anything exotic . . . I’ve been cranking out 9’s and 38/357 and 45acp by the bucket load.

Like anything else, you can always find bigger/better/fancier/pricier tools for the job. But ya simply can't beat that deal at $700.00.

Whether or not it's the solution for aging hands is a whole separate problem. Can't imagine all the moving pieces of the Ammo Plant will be much less vexing for your Dad than anything else he may be using already.

It seemed quite an effort to get the thing up and running smoothly. I started with the press and then added the case feeder later . . . and only recently added the bullet feeder. But now that all the kinks are worked out it seems to pay for itself over and over and over again . . . I shoot a lot.