PDA

View Full Version : casting temp./bullet appearance

BigGun
02-16-2008, 12:02 AM
good evening fellow casters,I have been casting bullets for many years, I have
?'s about what i am reading in a lot of the posts on this site.My bullet metal is
1part linotype , and 2 parts ww.My casting temp. is 675degs. . temp does not
reach 700 and I keep it above 600, using a lyman lead therometer, My heate source
is a 2 burner natural gas hot plate. i have w pots on this setup one is for casting
outof, the other is premelted bullet metal ready to transfer to my casting pot as
needed after fluxing, i return sprues and bad bullets to the reserve pot to avoid
cooling down my casting pot.I am a dipper guy.I use lyman and lee molds. If my bullets do not shine like polished silver, I remelt them,(no frosted bullets)I keep a wet sponge in a shallow plastic pan just larger than the sponge, after i have cast
15 to 20 casts, I touch my mold to the wet sponge (sprue first than bottum to mold
touched to wet sponge, the touch time to the wet sponge is very short maby
1 sec. this keeps my mold cool enough that I do not get frosted bullets., also
allows me to cast faster.
my ?'s why are some of you running at such a high temp? I am not argueing
with a method that works.
When my bullets start frosting, they are not filled out on the driving bands.
how do you get good filled out bullets when frosted? more later.

ted kelley

grumpy one
02-16-2008, 04:52 AM
My bullet metal is 1part linotype , and 2 parts ww.My casting temp. is 675degs. . temp does not reach 700 and I keep it above 600, using a lyman lead therometer, If my bullets do not shine like polished silver, I remelt them,(no frosted bullets)
my ?'s why are some of you running at such a high temp? I am not argueing
with a method that works.
When my bullets start frosting, they are not filled out on the driving bands.
how do you get good filled out bullets when frosted? more later.

ted kelley