PDA

View Full Version : Clean/relube bullets

Phunahm
02-14-2008, 11:49 PM
Ive acquired 2000 10mm cast bullets however the wax been somewhat melted from desert heat...what would be the best way to clean and re lube them? and with what?

44man
02-14-2008, 11:53 PM
I woud try just running them as they are into a lube sizer to put more lube on, then wipe the bases off on a rag, or wipe the bases first.

Phunahm
02-15-2008, 12:06 AM
Im new to the casting side of this so bare with me... Ill have to purchase the lube/sizer "Lee" and use the liquid Alox?? Is that correct?

Kraschenbirn
02-15-2008, 12:09 AM
I've had pretty good luck removing old lube using an electric heat gun. Dump the boolits into a square metal cake pan...if you don't have one of your own, go out and buy a cheapie off a yard sale but DO NOT "borrow" one from your wife's baking utensils...and heat them until the lube flows freely from the grooves. Scoop out the boolits with a large spoon onto a piece of shop towel and roll them around to complete the cleaning and, once they've cooled, they're ready to relube.

Not long ago, I cleaned one of my early attempts at mixing my own BP lube off a couple hundred .38-55s in about 15 minutes using this technique.

Bill

Phunahm
02-15-2008, 12:13 AM
what should I use to relube them Alox ,bees wax, both? Plus I would still need a Lube/sizer correct?

Single Shot
02-15-2008, 12:15 AM
Mineral spirits will remove most bullet lubes. Just put a little in a plastic bowl and roll the bullets around like you do for Lee Lube.

Any not coming off can be wiped off with a rag dampened with mineral spirits.

Same rag thing works to remove Lee Lube from bullet noses after the bullet is seated in the case.

Phunahm
02-15-2008, 12:35 AM
So after I remove the wax I just but a few drops of Alox in a contain then add some bullets and do whatever it takes to coat the bullets...then let them dry?

drinks
02-15-2008, 12:37 AM
Yep!!

Phunahm
02-15-2008, 12:39 AM
Kewl Thanks Guys :drinks: