PDA

View Full Version : New to wadcutters.

USSR
11-30-2014, 07:29 PM
I am buying the following off a guy on the site: Lyman 35891 mold 4 cavity with handles very little use. $80 shipped.
Seems like a good price. While I have been casting and reloading for a great many years, I have never cast and reloaded wadcutters. I have a few questions I would like to run by you. I am thinking I should cast them soft, maybe 5# pure, 3# COWW, and 0.125# 60/40 solder (98/1/1 and ~9.9 BHN). Powders on hand are 700X and Solo 1000. I am thinking 2.5 - 2.7gr of either. Since I believe these bullets have a crimp groove, I am wondering just how much of a crimp I will have to do? Also, any particular .38 Special brass recommended? Any advice you can give is greatly appreciated.

Don

Dave C.
11-30-2014, 08:05 PM
Don't load them in military brass, it's too thick.

SSGOldfart
11-30-2014, 08:32 PM
WW Brass if you can find it always worked best for me ,look for wadcutter brass with double cannlures
Don have a look at Texasflyboys post 75000 wadcutters in a model27.all you need to know about wad cutters and target loads is covered.

pjames32
11-30-2014, 10:25 PM
I used to load 3.0-3.2 Bullseye. Lately due to powder supply I've been loading 3.2-3.4 gr AA #2. I do a mild roll crimp in the crimping groove. I'll use any available brass. some has 30-50 loadings. YMMV
PJ

shooting on a shoestring
11-30-2014, 11:40 PM
358091 is not a flush seating wadcutter, so you don't have to use staight walled wadcutter brass, at least I don't. Also there is a lot of boolit contact with the case, more so than a semi wadcutter, so the wadcutter doesn't need much if any crimp.

I have used 358091 for SD boolits in 38 and full throttle 357s. Its a great boolit at 750 fps and is real impressive at over 1400.

I have used straight WWs, 50/50 WW/pure lead with a touch of tin, but mostly use 25/75 WW/pure lead and a bit of tin. All air cooled.

Good boolit. I predict you'll like it.

Le Loup Solitaire