PDA

View Full Version : Leading issue with New Load

fpsaholic
11-28-2014, 04:05 PM
A buddy gave me 1000 Dardas bullets, DEWC 148gn, 16-18 BHN, for 38 special cast to 0.358. I loaded them for my new S&W Model 66 with CCI Primers and 3.0 gn of Tightgroup. The OAL was 1.230. The pictures were taken after just 24 rounds. Could someone tell me where I'm going wrong?

I new to using cast bullets, and was hoping to get into making my own after these were used up, but the amount of leading here seems excessive. Any Help?

AFK
11-28-2014, 04:19 PM
My guess would be a light load of titegroup not causing the bullet to expand enough to seal. Remedy with softer bullet or higher charge. Please note that I am new to the cast bullet scene and I am sure that others with more experience will respond as well.

stubert
11-28-2014, 04:51 PM
I have never seen leading in the cylinder, how can that be? Do you have a burr or something that is shaving off flakes?

fpsaholic
11-28-2014, 05:04 PM
I have never seen leading in the cylinder, how can that be? Do you have a burr or something that is shaving off flakes?
No, It's never happened before with factory or copper plated reloads

GSaltzman
11-28-2014, 05:34 PM
16-18BHN is way harder than you need for that application. Once you get the lead cleaned out from the cylinder throats see if you can push your wadcutter through the throats. For a good fit you should be able to push them through with light pressure. .358 should work but it's always good to check. Never liked bevel base boolits but that is me. Most lube on these boolits are far to hard and do little of nothing. Start out with a clean gun and check measurements. Good luck!

Roosters
11-28-2014, 06:34 PM

38 special in a 357 magnum loaded to a coal shorter than 357 magnum brass, so yes it crossed a ridge.
Problem could be after it shaved that much off it was under sized by the time it got to the barrel = leading.

GP100man
11-28-2014, 06:40 PM