PDA

View Full Version : 22 hornet load/cb questions

hornsurgeon
02-11-2008, 08:11 PM
i recently picked up a handi rifle in 22 hornet for the kids to plink with. i would like a low velocity quiet load. what mold would you suggest for this? what powder? i have trail boss, unique, and lilgun. i was thinking of a 45-55 grain flatnose going 600-800 fps. also, as i am new to casting, lee liquid alox or pan lube with felix?

35remington
02-11-2008, 09:09 PM
The Lyman 225438. Short bullet that will stabilize at low velocities. The longer 225415 and heavier bullets of the same or similar length will not stabilize below 1000 fps with the twist you have in your Hornet. In other words, forget the 55 grainers. The 225438 weighs around 42-44 grains depending upon what alloy it's cast from. It's a RN, but that won't matter for plinking.

From a rifle length barrel you might want to figure 800 fps as your bottom end, and there is nothing wrong with duplicating long rifle velocities as there is no recoil and noise is low. For tiny charges needed with these velocities you may want to go with Bullseye, starting around 2.0 grains and working from there. Lilgun is too slow in burn rate for the very light loads. Trail boss would be okay, but it's pricier to use than Bullseye. You may start around 2.0 grains with that, too.

The larger flake powders such as Unique, 700X and others do not work well out of many powder measures in low charge weights. Some measures actually have powder bridge in the charge cavity and throw light charges when it gets too small in diameter. Bullseye meters very well. I mention the measure because you won't want to weigh every charge - too time consuming for plinking loads. I have not tried Trailboss through a measure in two grain doses. Since its granule size is large it may have the same problem as the flake powders, but this may be offset by the great bulk of Trail boss needing a larger cavity in the first place and thus avoiding the problem.