PDA

View Full Version : Brass Mold Troubles

Master_Mechanic
11-17-2014, 08:04 AM
Good morning everyone,
I have been casting for about 3 years now, most of my casting has been done with iron molds. Recently I ventured into the custom brass hp world and have picked up several mp molds. I took the advice in the stickies and cleaned, heat-cycled and lubed the molds. I preheat the molds on a hotplate, but i have trouble with proper fillout. If the mold is too cold the wrinkle or if there too hot the bases smear regardless of how long i wait to cut the sprue. Ive tried different temps from 650 to 700. I'm ladle casting with the lyman ladle. Any thoughts on what I should do?

44man
11-17-2014, 09:00 AM
I had the same problem with a huge brass mold I borrowed. They are hard to keep at the right heat. It took me a while to get the hang of.

dragon813gt
11-17-2014, 09:13 AM
Those lead temps have been to low for me to get everything to work right. I usually run it at 735. This allows for the mold and pins to stay hot and the sprue to harden in 5-8 seconds.

Master_Mechanic
11-17-2014, 12:29 PM
if i run the lead and mold hotter it seems like i smear the base when the sprue cools.

Jailer
11-17-2014, 12:34 PM
if i run the lead and mold hotter it seems like i smear the base when the sprue cools.

Pour a smaller sprue puddle.

trixter
11-17-2014, 12:39 PM
With mine in 45 cal, I run the lead between 725º and 750º, and cast just as fast as the mold will let me; my cadence is about a 1001 - 1007 for the sprue, then another 1001-1010 to open and it works very well, just a light tap on the pins and they all fall out. I heat the mold on a hot plate while the lead is melting, and checked it with my thermometer one day, it was about 550º off the hot plate. I get perfect boolits from the first cast. My other MP mold in 45 SWC, a H&G 68 clone is another story and works very differently. {another story for another time}

Master_Mechanic
11-17-2014, 12:43 PM