PDA

View Full Version : 44Man, I need your experience!

High Desert Hunter
11-10-2014, 03:43 PM
I have been using RCBS 44 Mag/Spl loading dies for the last 15 years, never had any issue until I tried cast bullets over 300 grains. I recently started casting the Lee 429310RF, and when seating the bullets, the seating plug shaves the top 1/4" pretty bad. I am looking for a recommendation for a seating die, or plug that fits the RCBS die body that won't shave the WFN bullets. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Tatume
11-10-2014, 07:37 PM
If you want to talk to someone privately that is what you should do. It's called PM for private message.

Outpost75
11-10-2014, 09:02 PM
Standard RCBS seating plug is for SWC with meplat smaller than your 300-grain bullet. Change to a plain flat wadcutter top plug or turn off the flange projecting on the one you have, so that it is a plain, flat face.

High Desert Hunter
11-10-2014, 09:05 PM
Wasn't looking to keep it private, in the event someone else had the same issue. I will have to check with RCBS and see if they offer a full wadcutter plug for my seat die. Figured 44Man may have known of a custom aftermarket supplier. Didn't mean to stir up any dust, just know that he has a lot more experience with the 44 than I do, now if it was my 45 Colt......

dubber123
11-10-2014, 09:35 PM
Outpost75 has your answer. Temporarily you can fill the seater with hot glue to just past "full", leaving a little crown of hot glue above the edge of the seater plug. It will conform to your boolit of choice, and is easily removed.

DougGuy
11-10-2014, 09:37 PM
Fill the seater with JB Weld will do it, machine it flat will do it, I had my son make me new flat seaters for Lee dies to load the RF boolits.

joesig
11-10-2014, 09:49 PM
I was hesitant to respond being this was addressed to 44Man but seeing there is other traffic...