PDA

View Full Version : Can we talk about "bore riders"???

seagiant
02-09-2008, 04:09 PM
Hi,
I've been casting for probably 20 years and reloading even longer,but that has mostly been for my pistol shooting. Now that prices have gone through the roof I'm looking at shooting cast boolits in my rifles and would like some clarification on the ways of bore riding boolits. I have a MN 91/30 for example and the Lee 312-180 mold. The bore riding part of the boolit is to small to be snug when I check it in the muzzle but the bands are fine. I am going to cast the chamber with cerrosafe to find the exact deminsions but using this as an example it is obvious that the bullet is small in the bore riding area but good on the bands. How do you know what size the bore riding area is when you look at different molds? Sorry for the bad description but hopefully some can tell what I'm trying to ask! Thanks

wiljen
02-09-2008, 04:39 PM
There will be variation in the bore riding diameter even within production runs of the same mold. The best way is probably to ask around and find out who already has the mold in question and have them give you dimensions. I have two lyman single cavity 311290 molds of different vintages - one casts .002 larger in both nose and bands than the other. In some regards, it is luck of the draw, but at least if you get several replies here you know what the norms are and you can keep looking until you find the one you want.

I also have a few boolits that are undersized in the nose and still shoot well, I think it is more about runout, chamber dimensions, and balance than just the bore riding dimensions. Don't count a mold out until you shoot it unless the driving bands are too small.

Maven
02-09-2008, 05:11 PM
seagiant,

"How do you know what size the bore riding area is when you look at different molds?"