PDA

View Full Version : Lee Loaders, and flaring tools.

GoodOlBoy
11-05-2014, 05:28 AM
I just wanted to stop and give a bit of applause to Lee for fixing something that has been causing my teeth to grind for YEARS. Once upon a time when buying a Lee Classic Loader rifle kit you had to call customer service and jump through hoops to get a custom flaring tool made because they were NOT included with the kits. Now these days they are STILL NOT included, BUT under custom services you can specify which custom flaring tool size you need and pay $8 plus S&H for it. Dunno how long they have been doing this but well done Lee! Well done!

GoodOlBoy

35 shooter
11-07-2014, 01:46 AM
I've been using the lee universal flaring tool for a couple of years now and love the thing.
Didn't know about the custom shop deal. Lee's always coming up with something cool!

mdi
11-17-2014, 01:00 PM
What folks call Lee tools is often confusing. Are you talking about the Lee Loader? I've made a few flaring tools over the years (just turn down a 1/2" bolt to a smooth taper or a 7/8-14 turned down on a lathe to a taper if I wanted to use my press). IIRC my Lee dies come with a "powder through die" that also puts a flare on the case mouth.

jmort
11-17-2014, 01:07 PM
OP is referring to the Lee Loader. You can get custom flairing plugs/inserts. I have a couple. It is nice to be able to do that.

Maven
11-17-2014, 02:45 PM
The Lee Loaders that came in the black cardboard box included a small flaring tool. By the early 1980's or perhaps the late '70's, the Lee Loaders (red plastic box) no longer had one.

leadman
11-17-2014, 03:46 PM
There was at one time 2 Lee companies. Both made the little kits in boxes but the content was different. The one company was Lee Custom Engineering and of course the other is Lee Precision. My 7.65 Mauser kit was made by the first company.