PDA

View Full Version : Where to start, got a TC scout

JTknives
11-03-2014, 12:23 PM
Well I'm new to the muzzle loader bench. I picked up a nice TC scout carbine in 54 cal with a 20" barrel and it has a 1:20 twist. I bought CCI #11 caps and a lb of pyrodex P (FFFG). Reason was I was thinking the faster powder might work better in the shorter barrel. I got a box of the hornady great planes 425gr HB-HP. I'm wondering where I go from here. I see TC has load data for T7 powder and wondering if I should have got that. Thy don't have pyrodex loads just Black powder and T7. Thank you guys.

mooman76
11-03-2014, 02:10 PM
Use BP loads for Pyrodex. It is lighter but measures the same by VOLUME. I p/u the exact same one at a gun show a year or so ago. I'm still working on best loads and haven't shot it much yet but so far so good. Shoots both Lee REALs and RBs good but I have only shot light charges at 25y so far. Last time out I shot RBs at 50y and forgot my REALs so could test them farther back. I have 777 but have yet to try it. It is a little more powerful so keep that in mind. You may also need magnum #11 caps with the 777 but I don't really know but is is recommended by some. Good luck. Here is a site for the manual http://www.gwmlc.org.nz/Firearm%20info/Black%20Powder/MANUALS/TC%20Black%20Powder.pdf

11-03-2014, 02:42 PM
Pyrodex FFFg is a bit fast for the big bores. You can make it work but would probably be much happier with FFg. You will probably be happy with the R.E.A.L. boolit. A 1 / 20 twist is for sure a conical set up and round balls will most likely be disappointing. Best to shoot it and see for yourself. I prefer Triple Seven for most of my ML'ing, but on occasion, Pyrodex has worked better. Start around 60 grains and work up for accuracy. Just to add to the lengthy process, sometimes a bare bottom R.E.A. L. works good, sometimes a felt /lubbed wad under the boolit helps with accuracy. You got a great rifle there. Best of luck with it.

starmac