PDA

View Full Version : New Reloader - 9mm & 40S&W

Sabroso84
10-28-2014, 08:18 PM
Hello all,

I am new to the world of reloading, working on finishing up the "ABC's of reloading" now and already have the itching to go out and buy my press. I plan to start small with a single stage press reloading 9mm (shot out of an all steel Jericho 941) and 40 S&W (Sig Sauer P229).

As far as gear is concerned, I feel pretty confident in the equipment I will be purchasing, however the one area I am all ears is for a good starter powder for 9mm Luger and 40 S&W (don't need to be the same powder for both, I am more than willing to use different powders for different calibers). I will be doing my first few batches with pre-cast boolits and then moving to cast my own.

Please share the powders/recipes you would recommend to a newb looking to reload 9mm and 40SW.

Thanks!

EDIT: I forgot to mention, that with the current shortage, a powder/recipe that is "easily" obtained, thx!

leeggen
10-28-2014, 08:30 PM
type into the search eng. on this sight: Loading for the 9mm Luger or Loading for the 40S&W
you will find the imformation requested. we will help you along the journey into the 9-40, but you will need to do some searching for powder loads. Are you going to shoot jacketed or lead cast?
CD

tazman
10-28-2014, 10:20 PM
In most instances you can use the same powder for both 9mm and 40S&W.
Since we are talking semi-autos here, I recommend a Lee classic cast turret press. It can be run in single stage simply by removing the indexing rod(very simple). It is also capable of significantly greater production which you will find handy for feeding hungry semi-auto pistols. I have loaded thousands of rounds with mine and am quite satisfied with the quality.
For powder, a lot depends on what you can find available. There is a long list of pistol powders and shotgun powders that will work in both calibers.