PDA

View Full Version : New gun or barrel break in, jacketed or is cast ok?

dieselrealtor
10-27-2014, 09:49 PM
I haven't really thought much about it in the past but have seen some posts about leading in new barrels.

Is it wise to run a few jacketed or plated through prior to sending cast downrange?

tazman
10-27-2014, 09:55 PM
That depends upon the condition of the barrel. If the barrel is smooth and has a polished look you can probably shoot cast from the first without issues. If the barrel seems rough or you can see tool marks you may need to shoot jacketed for a while or fire polish the barrel.
I am no expert on fire polishing. You would need to consult the site search engine for that.

Yodogsandman
10-27-2014, 10:35 PM
I would use normal new barrel break in procedures with jacketed and then go to cast. I've only done it once and I'm rewarded each time I've pull the trigger since. I know it's a pain but, I really liked the results. I cleaned between each shot using jacketed for the first 20 rounds, then cleaned every 5 rounds till I shot it 100 times. Groups improved from 2 1/2" using Remington ammo to 5/8" using the Remington brass for my own reloads.

ipijohn
10-28-2014, 09:34 AM
I get out an old cleaning brush, rap some cotton rag around it, dip it in 1000 grit liquid compound (like you would use to remove oxidized paint from a car). About 200 strokes in and out of the barrel. Clean it, take a look, do it again, do it again............ until you like the looks of the barrel. Slug it to get it's size, make some boolits and shoot it.

youngmman
10-28-2014, 10:31 AM