PDA

View Full Version : Type 99 Help, expertise/ input needed

Zacc
10-20-2014, 10:09 PM
Hey guys i recently got a Arisaka in a trade, $40. But i can't seem to figure out some things about it. First off I'm brand new to these rifles, and have scoured the internet the past 3 days trying to figure out if its worth much or not. Okay so here we go, this rifle does not the have original stock, as you can tell, but the bolt, safety and receiver have the same number, cannot see any other number anywhere on the gun. It has the single vent hole which makes me think T99. But the top of the receiver has no marks, and before y'all say that it was ground off, i for the life of me cannot see any difference in radius or anything. But it has the full serial number, series mark, and arsenal mark too, i want to say series 25 from Kokura. Also it has 3 scratches to the right of that, I can't tell if they're supposed to be there or not. Next is the barrel, it is rifled, that is very clear, but the barrel is only 15 3/16 long from the edge of the receiver, which leads me to believe that its not the original barrel, but whose to say. Next the sights from what I've gathered are clearly not original. The tang extensions are long gone, as are the magizine carrier, and spring. The chamber is not cast, you can see the machine marks on it. Can anyone please help me figure out what I have got on my hands?? Finally the safety has no knurling on it at all, or it has been worn off. 119772119773119774119775119776119778119779119782

Zacc
10-20-2014, 10:12 PM

Scharfschuetze
10-21-2014, 12:56 AM
I think that you are right in assuming that the rifle was made at the Kokura arsenal. The lack of spiral grooves on the safety would indicate that it was made late in the war when steps were taken to simplify manufacture of weapons. The lack of a crest on the receiver ring is common with rifles that were surrendered to the occupation forces.