PDA

View Full Version : Newby find, and a hello to you guys!

YoGerry
10-19-2014, 11:35 AM
Hi all,

I just signed up here and I am stoked to find this info all in one place for cast reloading. I have reloaded shot gun for years, and I am just now getting into reloading 9mm Luger. I am a plumbing contractor and have collected a buncho lead over the years, but last night at the "Zerns sale" a farmers market here in PA. I found these 9mm cast beauties all 7.5 lbs.for $10...NICE!

I went home and sorted them by weight (122 thru 128 grn.), and they all are between .355, and .358 on the dial micrometer. What I cannot figure is if they are coated or not? I coat my buckshot with Alox/mineral spirits/beeswax mix that smells like crayola crayons :), but these boolits have no odor? Is there another way to check if they are coated?

That, and do you all think I should shove them thru a sizer before using? thanks guys!

Gerry

mdi
10-19-2014, 11:56 AM
Welcome! Yeah, dis be da place...

I can't tell from the pics but I think the builets look like they are Hi-Tek coated. Is the surface of the bullets smooth and black, with no wax lube in the grooves? Was there anything on the container they came in (manufacturer, weight)? I have shot a lot of Precision coated 9mm and 45 ACP (which look just like yours) and they shoot great; clean handling and no leading, but I use the same sizing as my cast; .002" over groove diameter. You could prolly shoot the .358" bullets in a .38/.357 and mebbe the smaller ones in a 9mm. Won't hurt to try...

Echo
10-19-2014, 12:40 PM
I agree with mdj - probably coated, and loadable. See which ones will chamber in the 9, and load the others in 38's. Probably no need to size them...

Jupiter7
10-19-2014, 01:10 PM
I haven't found a single use for a .35 caliber boolit sized under .357. Well except for meltin' and re-castin'....

YoGerry
10-19-2014, 03:26 PM