PDA

View Full Version : Lead questions from a new guy

Little Boats
10-14-2014, 10:50 AM
I lurked for a while and read threads going back several pages and found answers to most of my questions with one exception.

When I am looking for casting lead for traditional muzzle loading projectiles what am I looking for? I see the term "pure lead" used but what is being referred to? I have a metallurgist friend I shoot with who would say 100% pure lead is unattainable from commercial outlets. 100% pure metal of any kind for that matter.

For muzzle loading what is considered acceptable lead? Is there a percentage breakdown of what would work and what would be too hard?

I am new to casting and wish to get off on the right foot. Thanks

Sensai
10-14-2014, 10:57 AM
Pure lead, as used in casting, is a relative term. What we really mean is "soft" lead. You can use any lead that you can mark with your thumbnail as "pure" lead for muzzle loader casting. :smile:

pietro
10-14-2014, 11:15 AM

Good reply.

Welcome to the forum, Little Boats !

rodwha
10-14-2014, 11:26 AM
Rotometals claims theirs is 99.9% pure:

http://www.rotometals.com/product-p/leadingotpure.htm

I bought my lead as old recycled piping. Roof flashing is also supposed to be near pure.

mooman76
10-14-2014, 01:12 PM
Use soft lead as possible. If all you can get is wheel weight lead that works too for RBs in rifles. Soft lead is more important for revolvers and conicals. Basically use what you can get, it's harder and harder to get these days. The softer the better though.

D Crockett
10-14-2014, 01:29 PM
little Boats give me a pm and we can work out something so you will have about 20 lbs of soft lead that will work in a black powder gun D Crockett

RogerDat
10-14-2014, 01:32 PM