PDA

View Full Version : Brass problems - what do you think?

USAFrox
10-13-2014, 10:00 PM
Ok, here's the set-up:

I'm a military tech school instructor. When I get ready to graduate a class, we have a "class graduation activity", which can be whatever the class decides (as long as the commander approves it, of course. As cadre, we have to have commander approval to meet with the students in a social setting). Lately, my classes have been wanting to go shooting as the graduation activity. Since I'm a member of the local gun club, I can get them in with me as my guests. I tell them "I'll bring the guns, and you bring ammo for whatever you want to shoot." Of course I tell them what calibers I have guns for, and then they just shop for ammo for whichever ones they want to shoot. I'm a nice guy, but there's no way I can afford to provide all the ammo they'd want to shoot.

Anyways, we went shooting for my last class's graduation activity. When it came to shooting the handguns, a couple of them decided that they wanted to shoot my .40's, but hadn't brought any .40 ammo. Being the nice guy that I am, I offered to let them shoot some .40 reloads that I had brought. I only had one box of 50 rounds, but I loaded up a couple of mags for each of them. In those 4 mags (2 mags in each of two different guns), I had two cases that had their case heads ripped right off.

Each of the two different guns tore off a case head. Had to take them each apart and use pliers to get the case cylinder (body?) out of the chambers.

After the second one, I noticed that my extractor was broken in half on one of the guns. 119112

At that point, I called it quits on shooting any more of those reloads.

I pulled led the rest of the bullets that were left from that box. I found that they all has the correct amount of powder that was marked on the box (6.2 grains of unique under a 180 grain Hornady XTP). There are no visible pressure signs on the primers. Here's the ones that were shot: