PDA

View Full Version : Selecting the best possible die mixed set for a six position progressive

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
10-09-2014, 11:28 AM
Before I go any further, I want to say I'm not new to reloading, nor new to reloading handgun ammunition. I am new to revolver cartrdiges. I am also not looking for a set of a brand of dies in this post. I have a good bit of experience with the various popular die sets. What I'm looking to do is create an ideal die set from the various brands out there for reloading .38 special revolver cartridge, with a the specific types of boolit listed.

First, the guns:

S&W Model 10, military issue
S&W snubbie five shot, lightweight aluminum frame
Ruger SP101 snub

Second, the cartridge material and what I have on hand:

.38 special
.38 special brass, USA made, mixed
lead boolits cast from wheel weights using Lee 358-105-SWC or Lee 358-158-RF
Winchester WST or Hogdon Clays
Wolf or Magtech primers

Third, reloading stuff I already have on hand:

5 station progressive press
Standard set of Dillon .38/.357 "New Style" carbide pistol dies - includes size/deprime, seating die and crimp die.
Dillon powder measure, powder die & powder funnel

What I'm looking to do is load ideal cartridges from each gun using the materials I have on hand, selecting boolit weight to match the individual guns. I will build perhaps 100-400 cartridges for that revolver, then readjust for a different revolver and load the same amount. This is not a cartridge that will be loaded and shot a lot, but two of the guns are carry guns, so I'd like to make two loads for each: 1. one for economy of lead/powder and 2. One that closely duplicates the feel of a self defense +P round (for the snubbie carry guns) so theose that carry the snubbies will get the feel of what a self defense round feels like.