PDA

View Full Version : Can I use dillon dies on a rock chucker?

zanemoseley
10-05-2014, 12:07 AM
So here's the deal I just got a rock chucker to get started reloading and sizing boolits using a Lee sizer. I plan on using this for my rifle rounds probably forever and will use it for pistol rounds for a short time. I hope to soon get a dillon 550b to load pistol shells and would like to get dillon .45 acp dies. Will the dillon dies work on the rock chucker. Problem is I think the powder station bells the mouth of the case and this wouldn't transfer to the rock chucker as it isn't part of the die set, it's part of the conversion set. On the other hand I'm new to metallic reloading so may have no idea what I'm talking about lol.

VHoward
10-05-2014, 12:27 AM
You can use the dillon dies. To get the case belled, you can buy a Lyman "M" die or a Lee powder through expander die seperately.
http://www.titanreloading.com/pistol-reloading-dies/lee-pistol-powder-thru-expanding-die/-45-acpauto-rimwin-mag-powder-thru-expanding-die
The Lee die is only $11.18 and will work well.

Davidk
10-05-2014, 05:45 AM
You can use the dillon dies. To get the case belled, you can buy a Lyman "M" die or a Lee powder through expander die seperately.
http://www.titanreloading.com/pistol-reloading-dies/lee-pistol-powder-thru-expanding-die/-45-acpauto-rimwin-mag-powder-thru-expanding-die
The Lee die is only $11.18 and will work well.

I have used the Lee die and concur. You will probably find single stage loading for large amounts of handgun cartridges to be daunting, but its a start

Dave C.
10-05-2014, 10:47 AM
All you need to use all the Dillon Dies is a Dillon powder die. Then when you expand the cases you can also charge it if you want.

VHoward
10-05-2014, 12:25 PM
All of my dillon powder dies require the powder measure to be installed on top to get the case belled.

too many things
10-05-2014, 12:37 PM