PDA

View Full Version : Spruce scaring

isaac0071
09-28-2014, 08:16 PM
Hello, I'm new to casting and have lee 125 grain 9mm mold and a lee 175 grain 40 s&w mold. And the spruce plate is scaring the top of the molds.

MT Chambers
09-28-2014, 08:22 PM
Spruce will do that.

isaac0071
09-28-2014, 08:25 PM
Will hurt the anything my bullets are ok.

bangerjim
09-28-2014, 08:33 PM
Sprue plates made out of spruce can and will scar!!!!!!!

If your SPRUE plate is made of metal, and sounds like the molds are aluminum and not spruce, there are small dings along the leading edge of the plate. You need to take a VERY fine file or VERY fine emery cloth and smooth the edge. You will see exactly where the high spots are as there will be gouges in the top of the mold blocks where they travel over the tops of the blocks.

If you do not fix it, the high spots will keep scratching your mold blocks!

And beware of cocker spaniels as they just love to pee on spruce trees!

banger

isaac0071
09-28-2014, 08:43 PM
Thank you I'm learning a lot off this forum.

bnelson06
09-28-2014, 08:45 PM
Find some very fine sandpaper and a flat block. Sand both the bottom of the SPRUCE plate and the top of the MOLD till they are flat, that'll fix the problem.

isaac0071
09-28-2014, 08:49 PM
And sorry for my miss spelling, sprue is scaring my mold. Love auto correct

bnelson06
09-28-2014, 09:00 PM
Just a friendly poke and some good advice

isaac0071
09-28-2014, 10:23 PM
Thanks for the advice I'm learning some good stuff here.

bangerjim
09-28-2014, 10:31 PM
I jest hait speling corecting fones and cumputirs!

HA.......ha!

Hope you get your plate smoothed out OK.

banger

PalmettoProjectiles
09-29-2014, 12:47 AM
it could be some galling too, i had that happen with some molds. listen to the guys talking about emory or stones to get rid of the scarring, then get some moly spray. i kept putting off moly spray and messed up molds because of it. get the dang spray.

twc1964
09-30-2014, 04:19 PM