PDA

View Full Version : Winchester vs. Marlin . . 30/30 vs. 32 Spl. . . . some lever gun help?

bedbugbilly
09-24-2014, 07:34 PM
Some like blondes, some like redheads . . . so don't want this to turn in to a Marlin versus Winchester please . . .

O.K. - I've shot BP for 50+ years and a while back got in to reloading - I like vintage 38 spl. revolvers and I love shooting SA. A while back, I took the plunge into "bottleneck" rifle cartridges with a German 8mm Mauser that a shirt-tail relation had brought back from France in 1919. I'm still learning but enjoying it. Like anything connected with all of this hobby . . . I now have the "itch" and would like to scratch it with possibly a lever gun.

Many years ago, I hunted with a Winchester 94 30/30 that was my father-in-law's. A great gun but unfortunately, his son ended up with it and sold it (the $ were more important than sentiment I guess?). When I was a kid, my Dad bought a pristine used 94 in 32 Special - I shot it a few times and that was great as well. Then he traded it in on one to the 1966 "Centennial" rifles. Following his death, my brother ended up with it.

My problem is this . . . . I've run across three rifles . . .

1. Winchester 94 32 Special pre 64 flat band - V.G. to Exc. and around $450
2. Winchester 94 "Ranger" 30/30 (USA New Haven) like new - $400
3. Marlin 336 W 30/30 - Used Exc. - $380

All seem to be nice and fairly priced from what I'm seeing.

I am not going to be hunting (those days are done) but do want to shoot cast with milder loads for just fun plinking. I load pistol cartridges in both smokeless and BP. I realize the twist rate is different in the 30/30 from the 32 Spl. and that the 32 Spl. was designed originally to be reloaded with BP. From what I've been reading, the performance of both cartridges is not really that different.

So . . . my questions . . . .

I want to set a budget of around $500 or less and all three of these rifles fall in to that . . .