PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a hunting buddy.

Cowboy_Dan
09-24-2014, 12:21 AM
My brother and I intend to hunt whitetail this year in the vicinity of Elkhart, IN during cartridge rifle/ shotgun season. I have a smaaaal sedan and he doesn't have a car, so we were hoping to find someone with a pickup truck or something and a couple of extra seats. We haven't chosen a date yet, and I have vacation coming up, so time is not a real factor. However, I would not be able to get vacation over a Notre Dame home game weekend as I am a cook near campus and those weekends are busy. We intend to hunt from the ground, but if you're going to use a stand, we could split up and then meet back at the vehicle. Thanks in advance.

Cowboy_Dan
09-24-2014, 04:55 AM
Update:

Just looked at the Notre Dame schedule. Looks like their only away week is Thanksgiving. So no vacation hunting day. So, anyone with a truck who wants to hunt on a weekday near me and would be willing to haul around a few extra carcases could earn some gas money. We could even meet you at the hunt site. I just don't have the means to haul away the dead deer or two we hope to end the day with. Again, thanks for any forthcoming offers.

farmerjim
09-24-2014, 07:33 AM
Will a roof rack or small trailer work?

Cowboy_Dan
09-24-2014, 12:25 PM
Will a roof rack or small trailer work?

Hey, if someone offered with such it would be great. My car, however, is not equipped for either. Good ideas, though.

Silvercreek Farmer
09-24-2014, 07:24 PM
I put my deer in the trunk of my Corolla. Line it with a bit of plastic and rock on.

clintsfolly
09-25-2014, 06:44 AM
Sink and Quarter put in a cooler in the back seat. Have just tied them to the top of the car and over the rear deck. Hung them from the top hinges on a mini van back door. Any thing to get out a hunt. There always a way if you think out of the box! Clint

Djones
09-25-2014, 09:18 AM