PDA

View Full Version : Frankford arsenal mold release

isaac0071
09-23-2014, 09:09 PM
Hi I'm new to casting has anyone used Frankford arsenal mold release.

isaac0071
09-23-2014, 09:16 PM
Sorry I should of asked with the above question. Has anyone added a lock washer to the lee spruce cutter screw.

LAH
09-23-2014, 09:52 PM
I use the mold release for mold storeage & sprue plate lube but not inside the cavities.

bobthenailer
09-24-2014, 08:10 AM
I used some brand of spray mould release years ago that i got from Gil Hebbard guns ! a waste of money.

LAH
09-24-2014, 08:21 AM
Agree with Bob. The only thing which should be needed to release the bullet is a tapping tool..

isaac0071
09-24-2014, 08:38 AM
Thank you all for your help.

DLCTEX
09-24-2014, 09:12 AM
A lock washer on the sprue plate screw would not work as it "bites" in one direction and will gall the sprue plate. A better fix is to drill and tap for a set screw into the side of the block to lock the plate screw. I got a tap and drill bit in a package from Ace Hardware for about five bucks and a hex socket screw (#8 I think) for .22 cents.

MBTcustom
09-24-2014, 09:30 AM
Ah, this brings back painful memories of how I used to jack up my molds.
Please listen to this advice:
Your mold is a precision instrument. Don't put anything on, or in it, that you would not put on your calipers or micrometer.

LenH
09-24-2014, 09:32 AM
Be careful with that stuff, it can make your boolits too small. That was one of my biggest mistakes and it is hard to remove from the cavity.

Casting_40S&W
09-24-2014, 09:41 AM
Great for old rusty iron/steel molds, not needed on a precision machined aluminum mold. Simply smoke cavity with a wood match.

jeepyj
09-24-2014, 09:50 AM