PDA

View Full Version : Did I screw up my mold??

Someflyers
09-10-2014, 02:12 PM
I am not an expert (or even close) but have
cast a few thousand rounds of various calibers that shoot well and am having a blast doing it.

I have an RCBS 115gr RN mold
that up until now has been a good producer of 9mm rounds. I have run about 2000 boolits through this mold. All of a sudden this week the front chamber is casting rounds with large fins on the nose and the lead is flowing out the vent lines on the sides of the nose as well. The rear hole is still working well and making nice boolits.

When I look at the mold in the light, there is a significant difference in the gap between the two halves in the top hole vs the bottom one. The halves seem to pivot on the handles freely and the pins seem to be engaged in the alignment holes. Did I warp this mold somehow?? I do preheat on a flat hotplate on med-low for just the last few minutes of pot warm-up.

I pretty sure it's my fault somehow ( hey, been married 25yrs!! It always my fault!) but thought I was being careful with my molds. I just don't want to do it to another of my more useful molds. Is there any remedy for the situation I find myself in or am I just going to have to come up with another mold??

OuchHot!
09-10-2014, 02:21 PM
Yeah, a quarter century of marriage certainly reoriented my sense of accountability. BUT I have not yet seen rcbs blocks warp so I'm inclined to think that an alignment pin has shifted or there is a burr somewhere keeping the blocks from closing. I suspect it is something simple but will need careful investigation to find. RCBS may warranty these, I don't know.

texassako
09-10-2014, 02:22 PM
Check the mold faces for specks of lead, and the alignment pins and holes for burrs, debris, or movement.

MarkP
09-10-2014, 03:09 PM

Check for splatter first on the faces of the mold halves. RCBS molds have a shoulder on the alignment pins the pin may need a slight tap to reseat.