PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy and the 1894 Marlin

fatelk
09-08-2014, 10:45 PM
I have an old Marlin .44 mag rifle that I've been tinkering with off and on for many years. A couple years ago, thanks to you all's help, I figured out the severe accuracy problem (mag tube binding on barrel), and got it shooting a lot better. As I recall, it went from dinner-plate accuracy to coffee-cup accuracy all at once.

Back then I also worked up a load for both myself (I don't hunt) and a good friend who hunts a lot. He is a government trapper and carries both a Marlin 1894 and a model 29. We found a load that worked great in both and he says it's a sledge hammer on bear. It was a Saeco bullet from a borrowed mold, as I recall a TC style plain base sized to about .432", with a healthy charge of WC820 (#9). No leading, good accuracy, sledge hammer on bears- what's not to like?

Fast forward to now. The borrowed mold has been returned, and I have acquired a Lyman 429421 and a 429244. I worked up a good 429421 plainbase load in my S&W 629 (255gr @ .432") that shot good with a stiff charge of H110 (ran out of WC820). I naively thought that since the other plain base load with 820 shot well in the Marlin, this one should too. Wrong! I tried it out recently and it's back to dinner plate sized groups, and a slight trace of leading.

I'm assuming that I'm pushing them a little harder with the H110 than I was with the WC820, and that's just a bit too much for a plain base in a rifle. Of course other factors are alloy and lube. The lube is a good one and the same as the others, and I think the alloy is close but I'm not super scientific when I mix my wheel weights and range lead with a little lino.

I tried a few gas checked 429244's at the end of the day and the one group I shot at 50 yards showed a lot more promise, and the bore was clean and shiny like a mirror. I think I'll stick with gas checks only in the rifle.