PDA

View Full Version : 6.5x55 misfires

Battis
09-08-2014, 04:43 PM
I loaded up a bunch of 6.5x55 rounds a month or so ago, using Reloder19. I went to the range today with my Swedish Mauser and 22 rounds. 3 of the 22 rounds were bad. By this I mean, twice the primer ignited but the powder didn't (bullet jammed in barrel). The 3rd time, the primer popped, and after a 1 second delay, the powder ignited.
I'm not a reloading newbie, but by no means an expert. I'm guessing that the powder in those three cases was contaminated. That bunch of brass was cleaned by hand - now I have a tumbler.
The other 19 rounds were fine.
Contaminated powder?
I'm going to pull the other rounds that I loaded and clean the brass in the tumbler.

JonB_in_Glencoe
09-08-2014, 05:37 PM
after you attempted to fire those squibs where the bullet jammed in the barrel, and ejected the case, was there unburnt powder in the case/chamber/magazine ? meaning if there wasn't any unburnt powder, maybe they could have been loaded without powder ?

boolits or bullets ?
if boolits, what lube ? stored in hot car ?
any water in your cleaning process, whereas there could have been some water/moisture in the case ?

I think you lucked out with the hangfire...that could have been a KaBOOM !

lefty o
09-08-2014, 05:58 PM
no powder or bad powder.

junkbug
09-08-2014, 06:43 PM
I have had something like that happen with IMR 3031 and really light loads with undersized jacketed bullets in the 8x56r Steyr. This was using Lees reloading information printed on their die instructions. Very light powder charge and undersize bullet meant very poor ignition.

Battis
09-08-2014, 08:06 PM