PDA

View Full Version : Optimum BHN for hunting deer/bear(black) sized game

tahoe2
08-31-2014, 01:01 PM
I bought some 180 grn RNFP w/GC for my 8mm mauser and some 200 grn RN w/GC for my
7.65 mauser. Both are rated at 14-19 BHN and I plan to achieve 1600 to 2000 fps; I will be
hunting @ 50 to 200 yards in broken timber and small clearcuts. Just wanted some opinions
on the BHN factor of these two boolits, which are made from a Lyman's #2 equivalent. If these
are too hard, I will save them for plinking and stick to J-bullets for hunting.
Any and all help appreciated, as I'm new to hunting with cast boolits. :mrgreen:

Loony44
08-31-2014, 04:13 PM
tahoe2
Lyman #2 equivalent 14-19 BHN that you have to me is a rather big difference. If it were me I would get newspaper and bundle about 24" thick, bound together as tight as possible and soak in water a couple days. Shoot at the distance you think your shot will be and see what or if you get the expansion you want. If you have the ability to HP the bullet it help. The 180gr RNFP will probably be better than the RN. You can use a flat file and make a FP from the RN. Hope this helps. Loony44

tahoe2
09-01-2014, 01:07 AM
Isn't 2' of wet newspaper excessive, I didn't think the game described would be that tough?
But I'll try it and see what happens.

Loony44
09-01-2014, 07:47 AM
2' of newspaper is to trap the bullet. You will be surprised at how deep the bullet will penetrate and you are looking for expansion. If you get no expansion, I would go with a different bullet that would expand.

Hickory
09-01-2014, 08:15 AM
For myself, and in the 30-30 that I use for hunting, I like to keep the BHN around 10-12.
With antimony 1-2% and the tin about 4-5%, it expands well and has a small amount of toughness to hold it together.

13Echo
09-01-2014, 08:31 AM