PDA

View Full Version : Question about a kit quality for a newbie

LifeAndLiberty
08-27-2014, 08:44 PM
Hi everyone, total novice here, and at the risk of a "use the search function" response...

I decided it was time to get into reloading, and it became mandatory after buying a winchester 94 in .375win. I'm about ready to place an order for a reloading kit when I came across this forum when searching for bullets and load recommendations. I've tried to digest the info I found, and basically that amounted to me considering going a step further and casting "boolits" as well as reloading for this round. From what I understand, the twist on these winchesters affords itself to a higher grain bullet, and I've seen recommendations for a 300 grain bullet.

I have some points to cabelas due to the fact that I spend more money than I should there. I can get this kit for free: http://www.cabelas.com/product/Lyman-Big-Dipper-Casting-Starter-Kit/706429.uts?No=0&destination=%2Fcatalog%2Fbrowse%2Fbullet-casting%2F_%2FN-1113049%2FNo-0%2FNs-CATEGORY_SEQ_104219280%3FrecordsPerPage%3D18

My question: I don't expect this to be the best quality, but at the moment I could really only see myself casting for .375 or .308. Will this be good enough to get started and learn, or should I avoid this kit?

Thanks. Look forward to reading and learning more.

silverado
08-27-2014, 08:50 PM
That is what I use. It works, although it is slow. If you can get it for free it will be worth far more than you paid for it. I can cast a couple hundred an hour when I am on a roll.

1911KY
08-27-2014, 09:01 PM
Free is hard to beat! It will get you casting, once you find a mold you want. You can always upgrade to a bottom pour furnace or just a larger capacity ladler at some point.

LifeAndLiberty
08-27-2014, 09:22 PM