View Full Version : 44 mag advice

jumbeaux
08-12-2014, 03:26 PM
Have just about talked myself into a 44 mag revolver to hunt whitetails with...ranges 25 - 75 yards. Looking at a new S&W Model 69 or a 5" or 6" (full lug) Model 629. I want to use a low power scope (too old to see open sights very well)...I have never used a handgun to hunt with so I am a real rookie. (Actually I have dispatched a whitetail with my Colt 45 SAA 250 grain flat nose.) I believe the 69 & 629's are drilled and tapped ? I realize the 69 has a 4.25" barrel so muzzle blast is a greater issue. I want to load a cast lead bullet at moderate speeds ? Any opinions on the revolvers and any advise on the load would be greatly appreciated. At first I plan to use a Lee Loader...thank you all very much...

rick

Char-Gar
08-12-2014, 03:39 PM
I have had one or more 44 Magnum sixguns for the past 50 plus years and one should be ideal for your purposes. For a moderate load I use the Keith 429421 over either 10/Unique or 11/AA5. Either will shoot through a whitetail or mule deer stem to stern and yet not be to hard on the shooter or handgun.

Currently I have a 5" Smith 629 and a 7.5" Ruger Super Blackhawk and I don't have a strong preference between the two. Both are very accurate.

USAFrox
08-12-2014, 04:07 PM
That is some gorgeous wood you've got on that Smith, Char-Gar. Did you do that yourself, or buy those?

Char-Gar
08-12-2014, 04:34 PM
That is some gorgeous wood you've got on that Smith, Char-Gar. Did you do that yourself, or buy those?

Herrett made to measure handgun stocks on the Smith. Blu-Magnum (Ted Adomavich) grips on the Ruger.

PWS
08-12-2014, 04:36 PM
Jumbeaux,