PDA

View Full Version : My 1911 is like a dog that won't hunt

Animal
08-12-2014, 02:42 PM
Hey folks, I've been working on and off for about 6 months trying to solve some feeding issues with my RIA .45 1911 Govt. Full size. I spoke a lot with 35Remington, but I have not been able to get in touch with him.

Currently, I'm pretty lucky to make it through 3 (7rnd) colt mags without a single failure. I have 3 colt mags with Wolff Xtra power springs and 3 colt mags with standard colt springs. All 6 mags are new, to include their springs.

Today I took my 1911 back down to the range after taking a short break from it. I started out with my 2 standard loads: Lee 452-228-1r with 5.1 gr Red Dot, WLP primer, starline cases, C.O.A.L 1.245 (which passes my plunk test). My next load is the Lyman 452374 seated to 1.257 over 4.7gr of Red Dot, starline cases and WLP primers. Both boolits are tumble lubed and sized to .452.

I do realize that both rounds are on the higher end of the charge. The purpose of these 2 loads is to simulate traditional 230gr Ball.

My initial set up today consisted of a 16lb Kimber recoil spring, 26lb mainspring, and EGW oversized firing pin stop. The FPS is a custom, tight fit with a squared bottom. The hammer strikes flat against the fps above and below the firing pin. The mags that I started out with were the Colt mags with the Wolff springs.

After the 4th mag, rounds began jumping ahead of the extractor. Oddly, it was always the 6th round when this failure would occur. My mags are numbered, so I sat the offender to the side and worked with the other 2. Again, same problem would occur, the 6 round would get ahead of the extractor on the other two.

I set all three of the Wolf sprung Colts to the side and grabbed my 3 standard spring Colt mags. Again, same problem. The 6th round on these would get ahead of the extractor.